Hawaii to Australia double-handed

The race is on to best Linda Pasquariello’s 30-day solo reference from Hawaii to Tonga (expect something in the 15-18 day margin in my case – granted aboard a MUCH faster boat sailed by a mini 650 sailor!  Also, both Linda and I are conspiring to arrive to Bundaberg before December as we did together double-handed a year ago aboard my Albin Vega 27 “ISIS”…

…So we’re primed, ready and provisioned for launch on this Dufour 455 yacht delivery also in double format with fellow solo sailor Adam Correa from San Francisco. He did the last single-handed Transpac on the International Folkboat “Blue Moon”. He’s considering doing it again next year.  We have a great ambiance together aboard (we’re truly ‘men-of-leisure’) accompanied by twin quadrant driven Raymarine autopilots as our third and fourth crew respectively.

This will be my second double-handed delivery between Hawaii and Australia in a decade.  In 2000, I double-handed the S&S 34 “Stray Bit” from Australia to Hawaii.  Ten years later, I’ll do the same route in reverse following in the wake of my co-partner – Australian solo circumnavigator Linda Pasquariello who I’ll see in a brief exotic pit-stop in Tonga before we drag-race to Aus. (Below: my crew Adam ‘training’ for life down-under and the marathon chess matches to come – I’ll let you know who’s crowned grand champion of the Pacific after arrival to Aus 😉

aloha, bj

Leave a Reply

